Danielle L Itm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Rude unprofessional staff

Original review Apr 21, 2024
I was harassed before payment was due. I was called 2 times a day, then after I just got out of thr hospital they came and took everything. I was in the hospital. I had a tracheotomy, and I couldn't breathe on my own. The day I was discharged they showed up and didn't say one word to me and took everything. I don't even have a bed to sleep on now. So unprofessional and it really saddened me.
View full review

User's recommendation: Rude and unprofessional. Only want money. They care less about the customers

Candis H Bjk

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Youngstown, Ohio

Contract dispute

When I first started this contract for a bedroom set I asked for scratch and dent. I was informed that they had one and it would be for 699 I believe.

I was also allowed to use my $100 award towards the purchase. However last month when I went in about another living room set, I had noticed the price for my bedroom set was extremely high. I questioned what that was about being that I was offered a scratch and dent set. Plus the payments we set up would have it paid off within the 6 months without having to actually add extra.

So last week I seen again nothing had been done. I noticed it when I had to go in to pay off another item a TV stand. I was then informed that they had to give me a brand new bedroom set because they didn't have all the pieces to the scratch and dent one. I was like wait hold up I didn't agree to that and was never informed about that situation.

I had even asked where the set was being that I had the items still at the store's location because I was in process of moving into a different house. The manager never really responded to my question just said how about if I get you the same set brand new for the same price but you have to start all over again. I was confused so I asked what about the money I had already invested why can't I get it back being that none of this was my fault all our of my control. He stated I would loose it.

He hadn't gotten back in touch with me, I keep calling asking for him personally no response he keeps having others speak to me. Now at this point I am livid about this whole situation and want my money back. I even asked if the money could even be applied to my furniture I have there. I was told no, it could be credit for a new item.

I am like why would I want to do anymore business with you all if this can't be fixed.

It's like I just gave away over $200 for nothing. If I am asking for scratch and dent that means I don't have money like that to throw away.

View full review
Loss:
$237
Pros:
  • Pro scratch and dent
Cons:
  • Con the associates

Preferred solution: The funds I've applied to be added to the living room furniture I am acquiring.

User's recommendation: Make sure they give y a typed contact even if you have paid things off and they offer a deal. I did not I just trusted that I would be taken care of.

Anonymous
map-marker Littleton, Colorado

Payment questions

The rent a center in Englewood colorado showed up at my brothers house regarding a payment. All my autopay details were on my account and they said they couldn't confirm my payment. The manager there had a *** attitude about my payment which I made with my debit card on file with rent a center. After my account is paid off I will never deal with rent a center ever again.
View full review

User's recommendation: Don't buy anything from rent a center in Englewood Colorado.

Anonymous
map-marker Denver, Colorado

Payment questions

The attitude of the manager of the store in Englewood colorado. Came to my brothers house regarding a payment &all my bank account information was on my autopay!!! After I pay off my account I will never deal with rent a center ever again.
View full review
William C Nxh

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Saint Joseph, Missouri

FREE BED BUGS WITH EVERY PURCHASE

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Rent A Center - FREE BED BUGS WITH EVERY PURCHASE

FREE BED BUGS WITH EVERY PURCHASE. Hello my name is William and I worked for Rent-A-Center in May and June of 2023.

Anyone who has purchased from this location is risking adopting an infestation of BED BUGS! The BEDBUGS and COCKROACHES have taken over the backrooms of this store and have been seen inside the furniture by multiple employees. THIS PROBLEM IS KNOWN! Yet they are still here casually selling their at-risk merchandise to unsuspecting customers.

I recently refused to continue working at Rent-A-Center until they exterminated their infestations. I told the manager this on June 18, 2023. These BED BUGS have been in the store for MONTHS! These BED BUGS have also INFESTED ANOTHER EMPLOYEES HOUSE and THEY'RE STILL THEIR AFTER WEEKS!

Honestly the level of disrespect for the customers, merchandise, and employees here is unmatched. NONE OF THIS WAS TOLD TO ANY POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS! Now it is June 28, 2023 and have NO WORD back from the manager on site. Complete and total ghosting after she asked if I would come back to work if the bugs were gone.

All my inquiries about the BED BUGS and coming back have been met with complete silence. The SAME WAY SHE'LL TREAT ANY DEAL WITH YOU! Do not buy here. Do not come here.

If you bought here and you have bugs call Rent-A-Center and have them send a bug exterminator to your location. For all the good it has done for my fellow employee...

Return your items before you catch them. We can all imagine what can happen after months of BED BUGS colonizing a local rental store.

View full review
Loss:
$3000
Pros:
  • Manager had anger issues
Cons:
  • Above the law

User's recommendation: Do not come here unless you want to adopt a colony of parasitic BED BUGS

hector h Dha

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Queens, New York

Got a question

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My tv screen crack Im still paying for the tv and renta center cant help me that sucks something should be done I should of did business with Walmart
View full review
1 comment
kimberley m Adq

They delivered my furniture that I had been trying to get them to deliver to my new place about 2 months finally got tv fireplace stand and tv both damaged and I sent text while they were here delivering to my new house. Still waiting for him to fix my 85 inch tv stand and tv since December.

But he still wants to get a payment for it.

Let lone change contract and gave my property to my ex. They are not interested in being trusted with your name and information

Robert T Bxl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Letter of concern

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

March 11, 2023

I am writing this letter because I am concerned about my recent interactions with the staff at the Rent a Center location at 125 South 24th Street in Billings Montana.

Currently I have some end tables and a coffee table that I am opting to rent to buy from your company, over the years I have purchased multiple televisions, sound systems, couches, love seats, multiple washer and dryer sets, and even a bed, we have been using Rent a Center for many years, both in California and Montana.

My latest contract is a used Microsoft Xbox Series X. I was told the controller was needing to be cleaned due to the previous customer, I was told the system was checked and appeared to be fine but was assured if I wanted a new system or even just the controller, any monies put towards the rental would be applied to the new system, this conversation took place with Jamie.

I have been having issues with the controller, the center button, the X button which, when pressed exits out of the game/brings up the home menu, this has been sticking in the down position making it inconvenient to use the system so I requested a new controller, I emphasized it needed to be a genuine Microsoft controller as my intention is to buy out the Xbox, as with all the other products I have purchased over the years.

Two weeks later I got a call that the controller was in, my wife took time out of her work day to swap the controller, please bear in mind, my wife has no knowledge of what it should be or look like.

What we got, was a sub-par, cheap knockoff instead of a Microsoft product. Once I got off work, my wife showed me the controller and thats when I contacted the store and spoke with Ki.

I explained to Ki that I was explicit when I asked for a genuine Microsoft product and Ki began to inform me that he didnt stand over the store managers shoulder to made sure she ordered the right product, I found this rather off-putting having to listen to the employee continue to throw the store manager under a bus. He eventually informed me that he would leave a note for the store manager, Stephanie, as he wouldnt be there because they get every other Saturday off, this was more information than I needed.

After the call, the more I thought about it, I decided to contact the store again to see if I could swap the controller back for the Microsoft one, as it was not used, your company would be easily able to replace it or get a refund. I spoke with Jaime, who, also was off-putting with her tone and demeaner.

By the time we got to the store, close to an hour and a half had been spent trying to get this. My wife and I do not live local, another reason we use Rent A Center for the free delivery convenience.

On Saturday March 11, 2023 the Store Manager, Stephanie called and immediately began to scold me stating how I abused her employees and that she was not going to tolerate it. I have never been spoken to in this manner, I tried to explain to Stephanie that my conversation with Ki was less than welcomed as I have no patience for an employee to give sarcastic comments pertaining to their supervisor. After Stephanie was done reprimanding me, the customer, she said she has zero control over the product your stores receive.

I found this rather odd, but she stated she would have a genuine replacement controller in about 5 days, I thanked Stephanie and disconnected the call.

I am quite appalled by the tone, demeaner and unprofessional treatment by the entire staff at that location and felt it was necessary to inform your organization.

At this juncture, I am still interested in an Xbox Series X, however, in light of the situation, I would like my account be moved to the location at 1212 Grand Ave, Billings MT location, it is my hope my business would be appreciated there.

I am also requesting that a new Microsoft Xbox Series X console (which comes with a controller) be ordered, I understand a new contract would be in order, and I am hoping the monies that have been paid be applied to the new system as was promised by Jamie. As I mentioned before, I purchase the products you offer outright and I would prefer a new, unopened (in a box) system to ensure there are no further issues in the future after experiencing the issues experienced with the controller.

I would appreciate no further contact from Stephanie, Ki, or Jamie due to the poor customer service they exhibited.

I am looking forward to hearing from someone and hopefully we can continue to do business in the future.

Sincerely,

View full review

Preferred solution: Looking to move account to another store and a replacement product be ordered, in new condition.

User's recommendation: do not settle for poor customer service

Edgar G Mkr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Complaint about a manager

I rented a living room set and was told it was new .it was covered in dog hair. And there was a syringe in the side of the couch
View full review
Pros:
  • Good company

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Need to be told the truth

Carolyn G Prs

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Albany, Georgia

To make a complaint

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I rented a TV from rent a center @300 south slappey I reached out to them letting them know I was hospitalized,my neighbors call me after they banged on my door and stayed on the horn disturbing my neighbors my neighbors are really upset,I stated I would pay the full amount on Tuesday morning due to my Ssi check not depositing until Tuesday morning due to the holiday.they were very unprofessional
View full review

User's recommendation: Not to ever rent from these people ever

Michael C Ksf

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Poor service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I had gotten a bed for my mother, it was delivered to the wrong address. Payment Date was set wrong. I needed to pay another 50 dollars So i had it returned. On top of that, the mattress that wasn't even from R.A.C was taken. I will never get anything again or try anything From Rent a center again
View full review
Loss:
$50
Cons:
  • Payments
  • Delivery address

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: Don't get anything from this place!

Stephen M Wnt

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Lodi, California

Laptop & customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Rent A Center - Laptop & customer service
Rent A Center - Laptop & customer service - Image 2
Original review Jan 05, 2023

I had this laptop for almost a month, then the screen turned black. I took it in to be repaired.

Rent a center told me it will take 2 to 3 days to be repaired. It took almost 2 weeks before I received a call. I was told it would cost more to repair then it's actually worth. They delivered the laptop, told me it was new but when I open it up I see it's missing important apps plus the GPU was out of memory.

So I take this one back. They did not have the same model so they order from another store and will be ready to pickup the next day. When I go to pick up the laptop the next day they said it was not picked up, it's still at the other store, they said to try out this ASUS, and they would call when the ACER NITRO 5 IS READY FOR PICK UP.

They end UP SELLING MY ACER.. WTH!?!?

Now they tell me they are not going to replace this laptop that's not working correctly.

View full review
Cons:
  • No quick response lucky if you get a response at all

Preferred solution: I want a laptop that workes

User's recommendation: Don't shop at rent a center

Ruby R Jzm
map-marker Decatur, Alabama

Not returning purchase after repair

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I paid off a stove while it was in repair for 6 months ever call they say the part is not in yet mean while I don't have a stove they allowed a delivery man to work on almost caught on fire they claim not to have a number to anyone high rank than a district manager whom has never contacted me
View full review
Loss:
$4000
Pros:
  • Convenient
Cons:
  • Lies

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Aleea Zpz

Employees

Very rude and did not seem to be able to complete task asked to be carried out. Came to my home smelling of weed and liquor with white substance on nose. The guy made no sense as to what he was trying to discuss with me and kicked my dog upon leaving my home. I do not recommend dealing with this guy.
View full review
Pros:
  • Great items
Cons:
  • Horrible customer service

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Stay clear of this employee

Michael L Ixe

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Mistreatment by Rent-A-Center Manager

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Nov 14, 2022

No further information about this

Original review Nov 14, 2022
I am a former customer or Rent-A-Center on Main Street in Worcester Massachusetts I attempted to take advantage of the new promotion for to pay one cent for the first week of a new contract so I ordered a flip phone paid one cent and scheduled a delivery date for today actually all online everything was approved then I received a phone call the next day bye the manager of Rent-A-Center whose name is Paul he told me that I could not rent the telephone on a weekly basis because I got paid monthly none of this makes sense I rented other items previously on a weekly basis this is an irrational and ridiculous Theory by this manager Paul in essence he is saying that I get paid monthly so I cannot rent anything and a weekly basis he said I have to pay the entire month I have in the past rented items and paid on a monthly basis but I have the choice to pay weekly on monthly so anyway Paul canceled my contract and said I would have to pay for the whole month if I wanted the phone I've attempted to contact the corporate office but have not been able to get through yet
View full review
Cons:
  • Rent a center in worcester county

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

User's recommendation: No recommendations

Michael L Vie

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Billing issue with Rent-A-Center manager named Paul on Main Street in Worcester Massachusetts

I signed a contract for a flip phone take advantage of the one cent for the first week promotion and I scheduled a delivery time for the phone I paid the Mountain Dew and sign the contract however the manager Paul of Rent-A-Center called me and told me because I get paid monthly that I cannot rent something on a weekly basis although I have done twice previously from the same store I tried to explain to him it doesn't matter when I get paid I can still rent something per week anyway he said I could not rent the phone with the one cent promotion unless I also prepaid the entire month charged
View full review
Loss:
$1

Preferred solution: Deliver product or service ordered

Esmeralda G Byl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Commerce, California

Poor Management

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Manager very rude and disrespectful. Went to make a payment for an item, store manager (ADRIANA) was not patient at all. Asked her to research on her end a recent payment I had made, she responded very unprofessional. Will no longer be a client. Store Location: 5508 Whittier Blvd, Commerce, CA 90022.0
View full review
Pros:
  • Efficient on products
Cons:
  • No customer service
  • Manager not professional

Preferred solution: Apology

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article